what you eating wednesday – apricot chia seed jam

Posted: May 23, 2012 in Recipes

I could put this on dirt. Yes, I love it that much. I picked up a case of apricots from my local Bountiful Baskets last weekend. Last night I made apricot jam with them. Yum!

Ingredients:

  • 18 apricots, washed and pitted
  • 1 tbs + 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 3 tbs fresh squeezed orange juice
  • 1/4 cup agava nectar

Mix the chia seeds with the orange juice. Let it setup a few minutes (it goes quicker if you refrigerate it, but keep stirring and watch it). Blend up your apricots (I used my Ninja blender). Once the chia seeds and orange juice have thickened, add in the apricots. Add in the 1/4 cup agave nectar (more or less as desired). Mix well. Keep refrigerated.

Original recipe can be found here: http://gethealthywithheather.wordpress.com/2010/06/26/orange-chia-apricot-jam/

I pulled this concoction together after a treadmill HIIT workout last night. Low-fat cottage cheese, natural peanut butter and a scoop of apricot chia seed jam.

Leave a Reply

